#How I See (RNIB’s Campaign)

Hi Blog world,

Last week, on one of the Nystagmus Support groups that I am a member of,  posted YouTube’s Glen’s (Well_eye_never) #How I see campaign YouTube video. This campaign is ran through RNIB.  I really liked Glen’s video and the campaign, and once I saw more people tweeting their #How I See campaign on Twitter, I thought it was time to join in.

When people look at me they don’t realize that I have a visual impairment from Nystagmus. Once people find out that I am visually impaired I explain to them that my vision is like looking through a clear piece of Saran Wrap. For me my vision is best during the morning, and as the day goes on, and the more tired my eyes get the blurrier my vision becomes.

I also have night blindness which makes getting around in low light, during dusk or during the night more difficult. I use a cane when I need it, and it makes getting around easier.

Even though I have these vision problems that doesn’t mean I have to stop doing everyday tasks. I have low vision aids such as a dome magnifier to help me access small print.  I have a talking book player and access to talking books from my local library, as well as, Bookshare.org so I can enjoy audio books of all different  Genres.

As far as, using the computer I use a screen reader called, ZoomText. I like this program because it can speak what’s on the screen to me, and I can also change the color of the screen to make things easier to read. It has different ways of tracking the mouse pointer too, which helps me when my eyes are tired.  I have a speech to text reading and writing program called Kurzweil 3000-this program allows me to read books, and write and edit documents such as my blog. 🙂 It has many different features that makes using the program easy to use-such as, changing the background color, the tracker, and changing the speed at which text is read to me.

All in all, I can say the most important thing I use on a daily basis is my Apple Iphone. I can now text with ease because of the built-in microphone and voice reader. I can also use the magnifier instead of using my dome magnifier.

Lastly, the most important tool I have is great and supportive family and friends, no matter if its face to face or online, they remind me that I am a stronger person despite my disability, and to keep positive no matter what I face as a person with a visual impairment.

To learn more about RNIB  and their #How I See campaign visit their website at: http://www.rnib.org.uk/

To see Glen’s #How I see Campaign video visit his blog at: How I See (RNIB #HowISee Campaign)

Please note, none of these websites have sponsored my post, but please feel free to check out their links.

If you haven’t done so please follow my blog,

blog soon,

Amanda Gene

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by Amanda Gene Harris, author and owner of Harris' InkWell

Hi, welcome to my website. My name is Amanda Gene Harris, and I am the owner of Harris' Inkwell. I am a disability and mental health freelancer. I would love to work with your company and I provide writing on a variety of topics on disability and mental health. Feel free to contact me via email at: Amanda@amandagene.com

3 thoughts on “#How I See (RNIB’s Campaign)

  1. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is important and everything. However imagine if you added some great visuals or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this website could certainly be one of the very best in its niche. Great blog!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from Harris' InkWell

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Well Eye Never

Visually impaired accessibility advocate, culture vulture & London explorer

Life with Charli

Even just a little inspiration goes a long way.

Luke Sam Sowden

Rambling About What I Can't See

The Martha Review

"If we want to explore deeper oceans, we first have to leave sight of the shore.”

EMILYS WORLD

This is a blog about my life.

The Poet's Point

The Poet's Point Is A Place Where The Pen Of A Ready Writer Roams...

Emily’s world

Welcome to Emily’s world! My name is Emily. I am 26 years old. I am completely blind. this is my personal blog where I write on my life and what not some things you can expect from me are blind/ sighted topics#gratefulness blog posts and inspiration blog posts and so much more regarding what comes to my mind! Please follow my blog to stay up to date with my latest blog posts ☺️

Popping Wheelies

You've seen many of us Wheelies. Have you ever wondered what life is like when lived on wheels? You are about to find out.

nicholassteele98

Blindness Quotes God

Under My Umbrella!!

Why try to fit in, when you were born to stand out? Dr. Seuss!

arianadagan.wordpress.com/

artist + creative coach

Tales of a Professional Procrastinator

Why I eventually completed tomorrow's list

Miranda's Musings

I have vision. Do you?

Detelshia Monet

Experiencing life one day at a time.

Rev. Rebecca Writes

Faith. Books. Disability Awareness

Advicebyher

We are here to inform and inspire.

dolphin519

Insparational support thoughts on random topics and quotes

Damon Ashworth Psychology

Clinical Psychologist